Logo
(702) 945-1660

Map/Find Us

Located in Henderson and S. Rainbow

DMV Info




Nevada has two designs for standard license plates. Both are valid for vehicle registration.

The "Home Means Nevada" plate, pictured to the right, was issued beginning in November, 2016.

The "Sunset" plate, pictured to the right, has been issued since 2001. The Home Means Nevada plate will gradually replace it as the DMV uses the remaining inventory of Sunset plates.

DMV offices may not have the new design in all styles. It may be some time before the "Home Means Nevada" plate will be available for all variations such as classic vehicle and military plates.

When you obtain new plates, the DMV charges a Plate Cost Recovery Fee of $3.50 per plate, a Prison Industry fee of 50 cents per plate and a Technology Fee of $1 in addition to any registration fees due. Personalized and specialty plates carry additional fees.

A registration renewal is not required if you are simply changing license plates and the registration is not due. The DMV will charge a $6 substitute plate fee in addition to any applicable plate fees. You must visit a DMV Full Service office or a County Assessor office which offers vehicle registration services to obtain new plates.

Nevada law requires most vehicles to display front and rear license plates at all times, except motorcycles and trailers, which require only a rear plate. You must display both plates if the vehicle is designed for a front plate or if the manufacturer offers an add-on bracket or frame.

Front plates are optional only if 1) the vehicle was not designed for a front plate and 2) the manufacturer did not provide an add-on bracket or other means of displaying the front plate. (NRS 482.275)

The DMV issues two plates (except motorcycles and trailers). If the second plate is not displayed, it is the owner's responsibility to store the second plate and surrender or return both plates to the department at the appropriate time.

License plates must at all times be securely fastened to the vehicle so as to prevent the plate from swinging and at a height not less than 12 inches from the ground, measuring from the bottom of such plate, in a place and position to be clearly visible. It must be maintained free from foreign materials and in a condition to be clearly legible.

License plate specifications call for plates to be readable from a distance of 100 feet during daylight. At night, plates must be readable from 110 feet when lit by standard headlights. Rear plates must display a decal with the month and year of expiration. (NRS 482.270)

The DMV reissues most plates every eight years to help ensure plates are readable and in good condition. See Rolling License Plate Reissue.

Decals

Registration decals which indicate the month and year of expiration are placed on the upper right-hand corner of the rear plate. Your registration expires on the exact date listed on the slip; it is not valid until the end of the month.

Nevada license plates are issued to people and businesses, not to vehicles. You may transfer your existing plates to a new vehicle. Plate transfers between individuals require a witnessed statement which can be completed at the DMV at the time of registration.

Plate Size

Motorcycles and trailers under 1,000 pounds gross weight are issued small plates. Trailers 1,000 pounds and over are issued a full-size plate.

Frames & Covers

Plate frames or covers are not prohibited as long as the above requirements are met and the plate is clearly legible.

Keep your license plates if you are selling a vehicle! Nevada license plates are issued to people and businesses, not to vehicles. Nevada law requires you to either use the plates on another vehicle or turn them in for cancellation within 30 days of the sale for standard plates or within 60 days for special plates. If you wish to retain personalized plates for a longer period, you must surrender the decal. See Selling A Vehicle and Plate Surrender/Refunds.

The buyer must get insurance and a movement permit from the DMV to be able to drive the vehicle on public streets. If you wish to give your plates to the buyer, for example personalized plates on a classic vehicle, you must complete a License Plate Release (SP 67). Registration fee credits will not be transferred.

NOTE: This information is direct from the Nevada DMV website and is assumed accurate as of May 2017, not responsible for updates or changes to law or policy.

Get in Touch w/ Us Today!

Fill Out The Form Below:







NOTE: This information is direct from the Nevada DMV website and is assumed accurate as of May 2017, not responsible for updates or changes to law or policy.
Powered by Landing Page Rockstar